Artist: Stomu Yamashta. Steve Winwood. Michael Shrieve
Album: GO
Year: 1976
Rec.: Val collection

01. Solitude
02. Nature
03. Air Over
04. Crossing The Line
05. Man Of Leo
06. Stellar
07. Space The Me
08. Space Requiem
09. Space Song
10. Carnival
11. Ghost Machine
12. Surspin
13. Time Is here
14. Winner - Loser

75.91 Mb

Stomu Yamashta. 
Steve Winwood. 
Michael Shrieve.

GO (1976)

All songs composed and arranged by STOMYYAMASHTA with lyricsby MICHAEL QUARTERMAN
except Winner/Loser, written, composed and arranged by STEVE WINWOOD
Produced by Dennis McKay, Stomu Yamashta and Paul Buckmaster 


Stomu Yamashta, a Japanese percussionist and keyboardist has had a varied career. He has toured with the Chicago Chamber Orchestra, worked with the jazz-rock band Come to The Edge, and has recorded works by Henze and Maxwell Davies. He has written highly successful theatrical and multi-media shows like The Man From The East and Raindog, as well as the score of the "Shukumei" for the British Royal Ballet. His music has been used in films including "The Devils" and "The Man Who Fell To Earth. Mr. Yamashta studied jazz drumming at Boston's Berklee School of Jazz.

One of his earliest recorded works is Red Buddha(1971) which is performed solely with percussion instruments. However, he is most widely known for the "Go" project. Go was a super group featuring British keyboardist Steve Winwood, Jazz guitarist Al DiMeola, German synthesist Klaus Schulze, and drummer Michael Shrieve(played with Santana). Go released 3 albums, Go, Go Live in Paris, and with the departure of Steve Winwood, Go Too. Go Too is currently available on CD, but the other 2 Go albums remain out of print worldwide.

After retiring briefly to a Buddhist temple in his native Kyoto in 1980, Yamashta released a number of recordings that used synthesizers, taped sounds, orchestral instruments, and percussion. These recordings have been classified as "space music". Sea and Sky(1983), is currently available on CD. Here is a reprint of a review that I scanked off the web:

Stomu Yamashta's music is a skillful integration of environmental sound effects such as cosmic wind, water drops, and bird chirps with a variety of instrumental tones. On SEA & SKY, his talents are showcased at their best. Composed entirely by Yamashta, SEA & SKY is performed primarily on synthesizers and percussion, creating a dramatic recording that makes one think of an expansive, beautiful world that is there to be discovered in all its exciting glory. On SEA & SKY, "electronic and real orchestra fade in and out, blur into one, separate, and work together to create an aural allegory about the birth of life and the growth of knowledge" - Keyboard magazine. Yamashta's performance, along with those of Takashi Kokubo and Sen Izumi, is delightfully breathtaking.

Hosted by uCoz